The Gift

January 8, 2015 at 3:27 pm Leave a comment

During the holidays, kids are usually thinking about the things they’d like to receive as gifts so we thought it would be interesting to see what kids would give as gifts if money were no object.  Kids were asked, “if you had all the money in the world and you could give someone a gift, draw a picture and/or write a short story about what you would give and who would receive the gift.”  We received 14 submissions and participants received a free sticker and were entered into a random prize drawing for a $10 Target gift card.

Congratulations to 8-year old Nafia Ahmed, whose lucky entry was drawn!  Everyone that submitted an entry is a winner because they did a fabulous job telling their story in their own words and beautiful drawings–congratulations to everyone on a job well done!  It is heartwarming to see how, thoughtful, caring and charitable kids can be.  Here are the entries we received (click on the image to view full size):

Nafia Ahmed, Age 8

I would give the biggest trophy in the world to my sister Mahira because she has done lots of things for me like play with me. – Nafia Ahmed, Age 8

Mahira Ahmed_Gr 3

If I had all the money in the world, I would spend a lot of the money for a mansion so that I could give the mansion to a poor family which is homeless. – Mahira Ahmed, Grade 3

Rahma Rizly_Gr5a

“Tornado hits Syria” said the headlines as it flashed before my eyes. I felt so bad. People in Syria were being striked constantly by numerous tornadoes. Thousands of infants, teens, and adults were dying almost everyday. Tears filled my eyes as I stared at endless pictures of little kids in refuge camps looking desperate, exhausted, famished, sick, cold, and tired without parents. “If I had all the money in the world, I would give it all to charity.” After all, “Do good to others as you would want for yourself…”. –Rahma Rizly, Grade 5

Jiva Patel

If somebody in the world didn’t have money, I would give them money because if they didn’t have clothes, that would be not be good. – Jival Patel

Zarah Bacchus

I would give my favorite teacher, like my 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Kamdar, a pet. Ms. Kamdar’s favorite animal is a cat. I will give her a cat. I will also give charity to the poor. – Zarah Bacchus

Ageel Rizly_Kdg

I will give all my money to the poor because “sharing is caring”. – Ageel Rizly, Grade K

Prisha_Gr 1

If I had all the money in the world, I would buy food and clothes for the poor. – Prisha, Grade 1

Kishan Patel

I would give the money to people in need. I would also put some clothes in a gift box and give it to the needy people. – Kishan Patel

Avnish Gr1

If I had all the money in the world and could give someone a gift, I would give it to my mom. The gift has my mom’s favorite colors and they are blue and red. My mom is going to wear my gift, when I give it to her. It is going to be a sky blue and red sparkling shirt. I hope it is an awesome gift for her. I picked that gift because my mom loves shirts. – Avnish, Grade 1

Zaid Rizly_Gr 4

One day I was walking home from school and I saw homeless children and adults begging for money. That’s when I realized that there are poor people who are in need of money, food and shelter. So if I had all the money in the world, I would give it to the poor. – Zaid Rizly, Grade 4

Deeba Majid_Gr 5

If I had all the money in the world, I would give a gift to my mom and dad. I would give my mom an iPad, some things she wants, and I would give my dad an expensive, good looking, and fastest car. – Deeba Majid, Grade 5

Lainie Demes

If I had a lot of money, I would give it all to my grandma because Hurricane Sandy took her whole house down. She is still getting replacements and does not have a lot of money to pay for it. – Lainie Demes

H Shah Gr 6

If I had all the money on Earth, I would build a spacious shelter for the poor people around the world. I would give them food, clothing and other essentials for living day-to-day life – Hady Shah, Grade 6

Kaelyn Carrasco_Gr 3a

– submitted by Kaelyn Carrasco, Grade 3

Entry filed under: Kids' Activities, Library Programs, Straight from the Kids, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

“Fizz, Boom, Read” 2014 Summer Reading Club All About the Earth by Dil Joshi

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2015
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers